With a welcoming atmosphere, Cathedral of Pinar del Río offers visitors the delight of the tranquility of simple works of art.
The building of an eclectic style and a small semicircular amphitheater that remembers the Roman Coliseum was inaugurated on March 23rd, 1883.
The current building obtained the title of cathedral in 1903 and it has a simple and discreet appearance of board type, soberly decorated.
Its facade is distinguished by a wide portal where four columns of circular section and Doric proportions are raised, but its smooth shaft evokes the Tuscan order.
Composed of a wider central nave and two lateral, its spatial sense of latitude rather than altitude puts it closer to the neoclassical with some evocations of baroque style.
The atrium, the central nave and the access to the belfry on the right are defined parallel in the interior of the Cathedral.
In the openings there are four immaculate stained glass windows at the beginning and end of the walls with images of the Assumption of the Virgin, the Virgin of Charity, the Apparition of Christ and the Immaculate Conception of Mary.
Another of the most significant images in the interior are the Christ of Pinar del Río and San Rosendo, to the center of the altarpiece carved in wood and with plastered clothes, it is the only image of this saint standing.
To the right of the main altar is the image of San José, brought directly from Spain and to the left the Virgin of Charity of original size, equal to the one in El Cobre.
Although it did not act as patron to plastic artists, as in Europe and the rest of Latin America, the tour through its rooms is pleasant for anyone who likes art.
For visit: Gerardo Medina & Ceferino Fernandez streets, Pinar del Río (“22.41357, -83.69706”). Free access daily.